Set up multiple locations in your Booqable account to track inventory and hand out orders across different stores or warehouses.

You can create independent locations or create clusters to share availability between locations.

The number of locations that you can add depends on your plan.

Note: This feature is currently in closed beta, and may not be available in your Booqable account. Reach out to our support team if you want to give Locations a try.

Locations

A location is a place (like a store) where customers pick up and return orders or a warehouse that only stocks inventory.

To add a new location:

  1. Go to Settings > Locations.
  2. Click Add location.
  3. Choose a unique name and a shortcode (like EAS for East or NYC for New York City).
  4. Specify whether customers can choose this location in your online store (to pick up and return orders).

With at least two locations added to your account, you can add inventory to each location and specify where customers pick up and return rental orders.

By default, each location has its own separate stock, which doesn't move to other locations. To let locations share the same pool of inventory, you can add them to a cluster.

Clusters

A cluster is a group of locations that share their inventory (and availability). Stock can move between locations within the same cluster, meaning they can be picked up at one location and returned to another.

Example:

Imagine your company has 3 locations: 2 stores and a central warehouse.

The stores are where customers pick up and return products in person; the warehouse only stocks inventory.

You transfer items between your locations as needed (when there's a shortage in a store, for example).

In this example, all locations are in a single cluster. The arrows illustrate how stock can move between locations.

Example 2:

As your company grows, you decide to add a third store. It's too far away from your first two stores to share inventory, but it's close enough to your warehouse.

We create a second cluster and add just the warehouse and the third store.

To add a new cluster:

  1. Go to Settings > Locations.
  2. Click Add cluster.
  3. Give the cluster a unique name.
  4. Select two or more locations to include in the cluster.

Deleting locations

If you no longer want to fulfill orders from or stock inventory at a location, you can delete it. Before you can delete a location, you need to move or remove any inventory it currently stocks.

To delete a location:

  1. Go to Settings > Locations.
  2. Select the location you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete.

Note: You always need to have at least one location.

Deleting clusters

If you no longer need a cluster to share inventory between locations, you can delete it. Before you can delete a cluster, you need to remove all locations from it. Edit a location to remove it from a cluster.

To delete a cluster:

  1. Go to Settings > Locations.
  2. Select the cluster you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete.

What's next?

Manage inventory in multiple locations

Did this answer your question?