Each order within Booqable is a separate customer experience. Therefore each order should be kept up to date with the stage which it is in. What way you ask?
Booqable has a built in order workflow to help you keep track of who has what and when!
The Order Workflow in Booqable is ordered as the following:
The extras regarding orders are as follows:
Creating a new order
An order that is "new" will appear only within the New Rental Order screens on the user/team seat that created that order. It will not have an order number attached to it.
This order is not saved when it is in the New Order state and can be overwritten.
This is where you will build a new order for a customer. You will add the customer profile, the rental dates, and order details in this screen.
You can reach this screen from the upper left hand corner from anywhere in your Booqable account:
Or you can reach it at the upper right hand corner of the order tab:
The next step when creating a new order:
To save a "New" Order you will be able to:
Save as a draft
This is always an option from within the new order screen
This becomes available as soon as a rental period has been entered for the order
Pick Up Items
This becomes available as soon as a rental period has been added and at least one rental product has been added
Saving a draft order
A Draft order has an Order Number linked to it and is a saved order. It cannot get easily overwritten as a whole, and would need to be cancelled to be deleted.
Products in the draft order will not be reserved though, so if multiple people ask for the same products in the same time period, those products can be put on the different orders for the same time period.
Creating draft orders within the webshop.
It is possible to have webshop orders come in as draft orders so that you have to check them before the orders is reserved. You can set this up by going into Settings > Online Reservations > Product Availability and making sure the Enable Availability box is deselected
It should look like this:
From a draft order you will be given the option to reserve the products in the order.
If this is an order that is going out with your customers now, you can also mark the order as picked up right away.
Reserving an order
Reserved orders are orders in which the products are reserved. This means that the products and/or stock items listed on this order cannot be reserved in other orders unless there is more of those products available. Once products are in the reserved order, their availability quantity will change for those dates.
By default, an order comes in from the webshop. You can follow the steps in draft order to have all orders come in as draft orders instead.
Reserved orders should only be future orders. If the order start date has passed, the date will appear orange to indicate it is late.
Next step after reserving an order.
From the reserved order, you will be able to mark the order as picked up. You will do this once the products are with the customer.
Picked up is the same as 'With Customer'
Moving an order to Picked Up
Once the date and time for pickup/delivery has come, you will want to mark the products in the order as picked up.
Picked up in Booqable means that the products are with your customers.
If the customer is receiving the product earlier than the date in the order, you will want to change the order's start date to reflect the date your customer is getting the product.
If the order start date has not arrived yet but the order is already marked as picked up, the "in stock" number in the inventory overview may be skewed until that date arrives.
Moving an order to returned
After the order has been marked as picked up, you will want to mark the order as returned once the products are back in stock with you.
Once the products have been returned to you, you will want to mark the products in the order as returned.
You do not have to mark all products within an order as returned at the same time. You can pick and choose which products to mark as returned based on which products have actually been returned.
Returned in Booqable means that the products are back with you and are no longer with the customer.
Once a product has been marked as returned on an order, the product will be available to be placed on another order.
If the customer is returning the product earlier than the date in the order, you will want to change the order's end date to reflect the date your customer has returned the products.
The next step after returning an order
After the order has been marked as returned, you will want to mark the order as archived. This will clear up your order overview list.
You should only mark the order as Archived once everything in the order has been checked and the order is completed, from payments to deposit refunds to emails.
Archiving an order
Archived orders are the last status of an order within Booqable.
Archiving an order cleans up your order overview list so that only current active and future orders show up.
Once the products in the order have been reviewed, cleaned, organized, checked, or any other step your company has at the end of a rental. And once the order has been invoiced, the customer communication for that order is completed, then you will want to mark the order as Archived.
This is not a required step of the order workflow. Some companies like to archive their done orders to maintain a clean and organized workflow. Other companies prefer to keep orders in their returned state to easily view done orders in the same list as active orders.
Archived orders will not show on the main list, You will need to sort by archived order on the filter sidebar to see archived orders.
Reverting order statuses
If you find that the order is further beyond what you needed the status to be at the time. Or if you need to change the dates or the products once the order has already been picked up, you can revert the order statuses in the "More" menu within the order.
*Note: Reverting order statuses can be set as a user permission, so you can limit this ability for your employees. If you do not see these options, you will want to reach out to your account owner and request these permissions.*
Duplicating an order
Duplicating an Order can be found in the same menu that would be used for reverting order statuses (above).
Duplicating an order allows for the products to be copied onto a brand new order. Once the order is duplicated you will be able to add a customer, and a new date range for the new order but the inventory will be the same higher level inventory.
In the same menu as above, you can cancel an order. Once an order is canceled, it is canceled for good. It is not possible, at this time, to restore an order.
Canceled orders will also not nullify invoices. You will want to create another invoice in that order for a negative amount to nullify invoices made in the order.
Replacing items on an order
If a customer rents products from you, but during the rental period decides that they would like to change the products on an order, you will need to remove the existing products from the order, and add new ones using the search bar as shown below:
Once products are replaced, you will need to either charge the customer more, or refund the difference depending on the prices of your products.